<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Aer Lingus sending spam?</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.tomrafteryit.net/aer-lingus-sending-spam/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.tomrafteryit.net/aer-lingus-sending-spam/</link>
	<description>Tom Raftery, social media consultant, speaker, blogger and podcaster</description>
	<pubDate>Tue, 07 Oct 2008 22:33:00 +0000</pubDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.6.2</generator>
	<xhtml:meta xmlns:xhtml="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" name="robots" content="noindex" />
	<item>
		<title>By: Juan</title>
		<link>http://www.tomrafteryit.net/aer-lingus-sending-spam/#comment-116951</link>
		<dc:creator>Juan</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 27 May 2008 14:08:22 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.tomrafteryit.net/aer-lingus-sending-spam/#comment-116951</guid>
		<description>I received two emails from "Aerlingus" last week. They look like phishing to me as the sender is aerlingus.chtah.com. 

I would not trust emails coming from chtah.com to be Aerlingus. 

I would never click on a link or load any image in emails from untrusted sites as that could let them know your email address really exists and that you read it. Is a call for more spam.

I would like to know how they got my email address in first place to know I'm subscribed to Aerlingus. Is that a leak of information from Aerlingus site?

Maybe aerlingus.chtah.com is a trusted site .... don't think so.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I received two emails from &#8220;Aerlingus&#8221; last week. They look like phishing to me as the sender is aerlingus.chtah.com. </p>
<p>I would not trust emails coming from chtah.com to be Aerlingus. </p>
<p>I would never click on a link or load any image in emails from untrusted sites as that could let them know your email address really exists and that you read it. Is a call for more spam.</p>
<p>I would like to know how they got my email address in first place to know I&#8217;m subscribed to Aerlingus. Is that a leak of information from Aerlingus site?</p>
<p>Maybe aerlingus.chtah.com is a trusted site &#8230;. don&#8217;t think so.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Anonymous</title>
		<link>http://www.tomrafteryit.net/aer-lingus-sending-spam/#comment-116133</link>
		<dc:creator>Anonymous</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 23:24:50 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.tomrafteryit.net/aer-lingus-sending-spam/#comment-116133</guid>
		<description>"There was an unsubscribe link in the mail but no way I was clicking that!"

This would have solved your problem in the first place no??</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>&#8220;There was an unsubscribe link in the mail but no way I was clicking that!&#8221;</p>
<p>This would have solved your problem in the first place no??</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Anonymous</title>
		<link>http://www.tomrafteryit.net/aer-lingus-sending-spam/#comment-837</link>
		<dc:creator>Anonymous</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 23 May 2005 14:48:06 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.tomrafteryit.net/aer-lingus-sending-spam/#comment-837</guid>
		<description>I spotted one of these emails in my dad's inbox, I'm sort of relieved it's spam and not a phishing scam involving airline tickets instead of banks, which is what I assumed at first...</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I spotted one of these emails in my dad&#8217;s inbox, I&#8217;m sort of relieved it&#8217;s spam and not a phishing scam involving airline tickets instead of banks, which is what I assumed at first&#8230;</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Tom</title>
		<link>http://www.tomrafteryit.net/aer-lingus-sending-spam/#comment-752</link>
		<dc:creator>Tom</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Fri, 22 Apr 2005 07:13:58 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.tomrafteryit.net/aer-lingus-sending-spam/#comment-752</guid>
		<description>UPDATE:

I spoke to the Offices of the Data Commissioner and they informed me that because I had bought a ticket from Aer Lingus, I could be considered a customer of theirs. Consequently, they can send me spam once, until I tell them I don't want to receive it.

So, while Aer Lingus have not technically breached the law in this case, they are still, in my opinion, sending spam. 

If Aer Lingus want an untarnished image with respect to direct mail marketing, they should change the checkbox to "Check this box if you want to receive mail from..." Also, in any mails they send, they should include the details of when the recipient signed up, plus an opt out link. 

This way, they ensure that only people who want to receive their mails, receive them and if anyone forgets signing up, they can see when they did and have an easy out if they change their minds.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>UPDATE:</p>
<p>I spoke to the Offices of the Data Commissioner and they informed me that because I had bought a ticket from Aer Lingus, I could be considered a customer of theirs. Consequently, they can send me spam once, until I tell them I don&#8217;t want to receive it.</p>
<p>So, while Aer Lingus have not technically breached the law in this case, they are still, in my opinion, sending spam. </p>
<p>If Aer Lingus want an untarnished image with respect to direct mail marketing, they should change the checkbox to &#8220;Check this box if you want to receive mail from&#8230;&#8221; Also, in any mails they send, they should include the details of when the recipient signed up, plus an opt out link. </p>
<p>This way, they ensure that only people who want to receive their mails, receive them and if anyone forgets signing up, they can see when they did and have an easy out if they change their minds.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Tom</title>
		<link>http://www.tomrafteryit.net/aer-lingus-sending-spam/#comment-750</link>
		<dc:creator>Tom</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 21 Apr 2005 15:35:00 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.tomrafteryit.net/aer-lingus-sending-spam/#comment-750</guid>
		<description>Hi Damien,

on the Aer Lingus website - on the Booking Information (You have 7 minutes to complete this page) page - there is a note at the bottom of the page which says "If you would rather not receive this information then please tick this box."

That's opt out - I pretty sure Spam in Ireland can only be sent to consumers if they opt in.

Data commissioner, here I come...
</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Hi Damien,</p>
<p>on the Aer Lingus website - on the Booking Information (You have 7 minutes to complete this page) page - there is a note at the bottom of the page which says &#8220;If you would rather not receive this information then please tick this box.&#8221;</p>
<p>That&#8217;s opt out - I pretty sure Spam in Ireland can only be sent to consumers if they opt in.</p>
<p>Data commissioner, here I come&#8230;</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Damien Mulley</title>
		<link>http://www.tomrafteryit.net/aer-lingus-sending-spam/#comment-746</link>
		<dc:creator>Damien Mulley</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 20 Apr 2005 09:20:12 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.tomrafteryit.net/aer-lingus-sending-spam/#comment-746</guid>
		<description>I'm sure I saw a mail from this crowd before in regards to Aer Lingus.  Goog luck with the Data Protection crowd. I have a complaint in against an Irish Spammer. Have been told it could take 6 months before they finish their investigation.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;m sure I saw a mail from this crowd before in regards to Aer Lingus.  Goog luck with the Data Protection crowd. I have a complaint in against an Irish Spammer. Have been told it could take 6 months before they finish their investigation.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>
